Directorate General of Land Transportation

The initial form of the Ministry of Transportation, then called the Ministry of Transportation, which was born in the scene of struggle, was a combination between the Ministry of Transportation and the Department of Public Works, led by a Minister Abikusno Tjokrosuyoso. But this did not last long, because the Department of Transportation and the Department of Public Works were no longer held by the same person who concurrently served as before. Transportation and public works affairs were then under two different officials namely the Ministry of Transportation headed by Ir. Abdulkarim and the Ministry of Public Works under the leadership of Ir. Putuhena. In accordance with the name he bears, the Department of Transportation takes care of transportation issues.

The Dutch desire to regain power in Indonesia was very evident when they launched their second military aggression on December 19, 1948. In this aggression, the Dutch managed to control Yogyakarta and arrest President Soekarno and Vice President Hatta. In this emergency condition, the Telegraph Service as one of the offices in the Ministry of Transportation succeeded in carrying out its duties which had an important impact on the continuity of Indonesia's establishment at that time. The Telegraph Service succeeded in sending the latest news to Bukittinggi addressed to Mr. Sjafruddin Prawiranegara from President Soekarno whose content was to authorize the formation of an emergency government. Subsequently, an Emergency Cabinet was formed with Mr. Sjafruddin Prawiranegara as Prime Minister and Ir. Indratjaja as Minister of Transportation and concurrently as Minister of Prosperity.

From the beginning of independence until the recognition of Dutch sovereignty over the RIS in 1949, the Ministry of Transportation had the authority to regulate sea, air, land, railways as well as postal, telegraph, and telecommunications transportation and each of these sectors was taken care of by its own offices under the organizational structure of the Ministry of Transportation.

History of Ditjen Hubdat